May Wrap Up

I haven’t posted in a while and that is mainly as I have been really busy doing real life stuff. I’ve also set this to post come out on the 31st as I’m away in Sydney. I will write up a post about it when I get back. So far this month I have read 5 books. I’m really happy with that and I’m currently reading The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson and really enjoying it.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

I was reading this last month and just finished it at the beginning on the month. I found this a little slow to get going unlike Vicious. However, it was a really enjoyable read and a great standalone book. I was left feeling happy with the ending but I am looking forward to the next book in the series and ended up giving A Darker Shade of Magic 4/5.

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

I read this book very quickly as it was super enjoyable. I really loved the story and thought it was really well written. For me it was one of those books which you want to make everyone you know read because it was so amazing.  This was a 5/5 book for me and I highly recommend it to people who like historical fiction.

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

This was another amazing book that I really enjoyed reading. It was super exciting and I hardly put it down the whole time. The characters are really well thought out and developed a lot over the course of the book. The plot was super complex and finished well but left enough unfinished plots to make me want to read the next book the series. This was a solid 5/5 for me and highly recommend it.

The Manifesto on How to be Interesting by Holly Bourne

I saw this at the library and could not resist as it had a pretty red coloured trim on the pages. It was a interesting book that accurately represented what it is like to be a youth today. I just found this book a little hard to connect with as the main character Bree was a very uncaring person initially. However, I did enjoy it and found it a thought provoking book and gave it 3/5.

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

I thought this was a well written standalone fantasy book and I really enjoyed the different point of view on faeries.  I just found while reading it that I didn’t connect with the characters very much. I found it interesting and it got exciting by the end but I didn’t really care what happened to the people. I ended up decided to give the book 3/5.

These are all the book I have read this month. I’m not really sure what I am reading next month. I will update you guys on that once I have had some time to think about it.

Leave a comment